Two lines inspired by geometric figures, adapted to several pieces of furniture:
Meeting between the purity of geometric shapes and the weight of historical figures

"Neper": a line inspired by the ellipse and the Art Decorative style 

The furniture is encircled with several wooden rings whose spacing changes. These ellipses echo the race of the planets around the sun and the rings of Saturn or evoke the fuselages of the first planes, the hulls of boats and the frames of yesteryear. Several desks, buffets and shelves are available in this series.

 

 

"Magic Platon": an unpublished find 

Plato solids refer to the 5 regular convex polyhedra: tetrahedron, octahedron, cube (or hexahedron), dodecahedron and icosahedron.

Decimal Design focused on the dodecahedron for its aesthetic attributes (12 pentagonal faces) but also its historical weight.

It is one of the first 3 regular polyhedra probably discovered by Greek mathematicians (the Pythagoreans) more than 2000 years ago, is the origin of the concept of "quintessence" and was worked in bronze by the Romans. It is present in nature in the state of crystal and has been represented by several artists, we retain here the Cene of Savador Dali.

What Decimal Design has developed is a technique of opening the dodecahedron which allows to create a large pentagonal plate at the top of the dodecahedron. The applications in furniture and decorative objects are numerous. 

© 2019 CC

Deux lignes inspirées de figures géométriques, adaptées à plusieurs pièces de mobilier :

Rencontre entre la pureté des formes géométriques et le poids des figures historiques

"Néper" : une ligne inspirée de l'ellipse et du style Art Décoratif 

Les meubles sont cerclés de plusieurs anneaux de bois dont l'espacement évolue dans le sens de la hauteur selon un logarithme népérien. Ces ellipses font écho à la course des planètes autour du soleil et aux anneaux de Saturne ou évoquent les fuselages des premiers avions, les coques de bateaux et les charpentes d'autrefois. Plusieurs bureaux, buffets et étagères sont disponibles dans cette série.

 

 

"Flower Platon" : une trouvaille inédite 

Les solides de Platon désignent les 5 polyèdres réguliers convexes: le tétraèdre, l'octaèdre, le cube (ou hexaèdre), le dodécaèdre et l'icosaèdre.

Decimal Design s'est focalisé sur le dodécaèdre pour ses attributs esthétiques (12 faces pentagonales) mais aussi son poids historique. Il est un des 3 premiers polyèdres réguliers vraissemblablement découverts par les mathématiciens grecs (les pythagoriciens) il y a plus de 2000 ans, est à l'origine de la notion de "quintessence" et a été travaillé en bronze par les Romains. Il est présent dans la nature à l'état de cristal et a été représenté par plusieurs artistes, notamment Savador Dali.

Ce que Decimal Design a développé, c'est une technique d'ouverture du dodécaèdre qui permet de créer un grand plateau pentagonal au sommet du dodécaèdre. Les applications potentielles dans le mobilier et les objets de décoration sont nombreuses.